SPJ announces 2020 Excellence in Journalism Award winners

More than 240 awards are being distributed to Metro Detroit’s best journalists who are being announced today as winners in the 2020 SPJ Detroit “Excellence in Journalism” competition.

The group joins a spectacular collection of awardees, including Robert Snell of The Detroit News, who was earlier cited as the region’s “Journalist of the Year.”

The complete list of winners is being provided in this announcement instead of the usual unveiling at the SPJ Detroit annual spring banquet, which was canceled after growing concerns over the COVID-19 pandemic.

The annual competition honors the best journalism spanning all mediums including print, radio, television and digital in Southeastern Michigan.

“SPJ Detroit congratulates the winners and finalists this year and we are so sorry that we can’t hold our annual fest to meet and celebrate each of you personally and with our many peers,” said Beth Konrad, the Detroit chapter president and a professor of practice at Wayne State University.

View the winners below

2020 SPJ Excellence in Jour… by SPJ Detroit on Scribd

Scroll to Top