SPJ Detroit announces finalists for Excellence in Journalism Awards

SPJ Detroit today released the list of finalists for its annual Excellence in Journalism awards competition.

The more than 200 listees also include finalists for Journalist of the Year, Young Journalist of the Year and the inaugural Sojourner Truth Award in Topical Reporting, officials from the Detroit chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists said.

The winners will be announced at 4 p.m. June 8 in a virtual program that will be hosted on the Facebook page of the Society of Professional Journalist/Detroit, among other social media venues.

“We look forward to presenting this unique virtual program to honor outstanding individuals and the award-winning work that was created by our media colleagues last year,” said Beth Konrad, the Detroit chapter president and a professor of practice at Wayne State University.

Check out the list of winners below, and the finalists for Journalist/Young Journalist of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Award nominees.

SPJ Detroit Finalist Award listing by SPJ Detroit on Scribd

2021 JOY, YJOY, Lifetime winners & Scholarship winners by SPJ Detroit on Scribd

Scroll to Top