Finalists announced for 2023 Excellence in Journalism Awards

The Detroit chapter of Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ Detroit) today announces finalists for its 2023 Excellence in Journalism awards. The order of first-, second- and third-place winners, as well as the winners and finalists in the Journalist of the Year and the Young Journalist of the Year competition, will be announced at the San Marino Club in Troy, Michigan.

Shortly, we will release the names of this year’s Lifetime Achievement honorees, as well as finalists for Journalist of the Year, Young Journalist of the Year, and our scholarships.

We very much look forward to celebrating these awards in person this year. Honors will be awarded at the chapter’s Excellence in Journalism awards banquet on Wednesday, May 15, at the San Marino Club – 1685 E. Big Beaver Rd. – in Troy. Please visit our web page to purchase tickets.

“The Excellence in Journalism competition is a celebration of the best in Michigan journalism, and the quality of the entries we received from our colleagues across the state made us proud of our profession,” said Marty Fischhoff, SPJ Detroit president. “Come join us at the ceremony to help give them the tribute they deserve. And it’s one of the best networking opportunities of the year.”

Here is the link to the list of Excellence in Journalism finalists.


Check out the winners below

2024 – Excellence in Journalism Finalists by SPJ Detroit on Scribd

Scroll to Top