View the Excellence in Journalism Winners with judges’ comments

Congratulations to all of the winners at the SPJ Detroit Excellence in Journalism Awards!

Jonathan Oosting and Mike Wilkinson of Bridge Michigan were named Journalists of the Year, and Jena Brooker of BridgeDetroit was named Young Journalist of the Year!

One Detroit, American Black Journal, BridgeDetroit received the Sojourner Truth Award in Topical Reporting, which honors excellence in journalism covering racial justice. The Sojourner Truth Award seeks to recognize reporting that is revealing and impactful in tackling new subject matter. The group was recognized for its Walk to Freedom coverage.

Three of metro Detroit’s most respected journalists – Carolyn Clifford, Kirthmon F. Dozier and Luther Keith – were honored by the SPJ Detroit board of directors to receive this year’s Lifetime Achievement Awards.

For the other winners, view a list below with comments from the judges.

SPJ Detroit EIJ winners with judges’ comments by SPJ Detroit on Scribd

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top